What is Persistent Pain?

Persistent pain (sometimes referred to as chronic pain) is pain that has lasted for more than 3 months and affects many people in the UK.  It can have a huge effect on people’s lives, causing disability, sadness and frustration. Often there is no cure for persistent pain so learning self-management techniques can help people to live well with pain.

For more information about persistent pain please visit:

About Grampian Pain Support

GPS has been supporting people with persistent pain since 2014. Our membership includes people from Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire and one or two from further afield.  As well as our support group meetings we have occasional social events or outings that many members enjoy. We also have available for members to borrow a stock of books, CD’s and small gadgets relevant to those living with persistent pain.

How can the GPS group help me?

GPS is run by people affected by persistent pain with support from people working in the field of persistent pain. This group can help you feel less alone and isolated. You will be able to receive and give support helping you live well with your pain. The group will also help you to learn more about the supported self-management of persistent pain.

What happens at the meetings?

The meetings of GPS are informal, there are talks and relevant discussions, as well as a chance to just be amongst other people who know what it is like to live with persistent pain. There will also be the opportunity to join in with helpful active movements and some mindfulness/relaxation.

Our message to people is please don’t suffer in silence, come along and join us!

Upcoming Talks

  • Friday 1st February– Pacing and Flare-up management
  • Friday 1st March– Drumming
  • Friday 5th April– Improving sleep
  • Friday 3rd May– Relaxation
  • Friday 7th June– Hypnotherapy
  • Friday 5th July– Managing medication
  • Friday 2nd August– What is Persistent pain
  • Friday 6th September– Chair based yoga
  • Friday 4th October– ACT Matrix
  • Friday 1st November– Understanding emotions (stress and anxiety)
  • Friday 6th December– Nutrition or Christmas Games